Chainsaw Ale Double ESB by Left Hand Brewing

Chainsaw Ale Double ESB by Left Hand Brewing abv = 9.4%

This was my first experience with an ESB (Extra Special Bitter). The proprietor of the shop informed me ESBs were comparable to IPAs – all the convincing I needed to go ahead with the purchase.

Expecting a bold hop character and a lasting bite I was simultaneously surprised and disappointed upon first quaff.

Dissed because I expected the hops to rip across my palette like a chainsaw across a log, yet surprised at the smooth nature of the ale.

Qualms aside, by the end of the bomber I was left yearning for more; always a good sign of a beer worthy of your time

Try one now.

Published by

J.S. Lewis

Beer advocate. Beer lover. Beer enthusiast. I also care for water.

2 thoughts on “Chainsaw Ale Double ESB by Left Hand Brewing”

Leave a Reply

