Improvisación By Cigar City

Improvisación is an Oatmeal Rye India Brown Ale. Doesn’t that sound amazing? Grabbed a bottle of it on a whim last night, and I’m glad I did. In fact I’m always happy when I’m drinking anything by Cigar City out of Tampa, Florida. If you have the chance to purchase one of Cigar City’s fine brews, jump at it – disappointment will not be yours.

This ORIBA is smooth and well-balanced. It pours a nice dark color reminiscent of the bottles label, still, there is some translucency. The head stuck around for quite some time. Lacing was adequate. Flavors of fresh-baked bread jumped out at me, while that classic grainy aroma filled my nostrils. I was most surprised by the beer’s hoppiness – wasn’t expecting that. At 9% I found this beer to be very drinkable; may have went for two had the wallet allowed it.

I always find it simultaneously frustrating and satisfying when a beer costs upwards of $10 a bottle. Glad that I’m supporting a craft brewery and not big beer, but sad that I’m spending a good chunk of change for what’s usually a fleeting moment. Fortunately I have this blog to look back upon and reminisce of the times I’ve had drinking fine craft brews. I digress.

There’s not much else I can say about Improvisación that hasn’t already been said by all the beer rating websites or fellow beer bloggers, so I’ll put it as simply as possible: Improvisación is well worth the money and Cigar City beers are well worth seeking out; though its seems at the moment their distribution is limited. Guess I’m happy I moved to Florida after all.

Photo credit Cigar City Blog

Published by

J.S. Lewis

Beer advocate. Beer lover. Beer enthusiast. I also care for water.

Leave a Reply

